

# President's Council of Advisors on Science and Technology (PCAST) Public Meeting Agenda July 18, 2013

# National Academy of Sciences (NAS) 2101 Constitution Avenue, NW Washington, DC

#### **Lecture Room**

# Tentative Agenda as of July 37, 2013

9:00 am Welcome from PCAST Co-Chairs

*John Holdren*, Assistant to the President for Science and Technology; Director, Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP); Co-Chair, PCAST

Eric Lander, Co-Chair, PCAST

9:05 am Big Data: Smart Cities

*Steven Koonin*, Director, New York University Center for Urban Science and Progress *Alan Wilson*, Professor of Urban and Regional Systems in the Centre for Advanced Spatial Analysis, University College London

**10:20** am **Break** 

10:30 am Mathematics Education: Toward 2025

*Mark Green*, Professor Emeritus of Mathematics, University of California, Los Angeles *Eric Friedlander*, Dean's Professor of Mathematics, University of Southern California; Noyes Professor of Mathematics (Emeritus), Northwestern University; President

Emeritus, American Mathematical Society

David Bressoud, Professor of Mathematics, Macalester College; President Emeritus,

Mathematical Association of America

Frank Kelly, Professor of Mathematics, University of Cambridge

11:45 am Public Comment

12:00 pm Adjourn



# THE PRESIDENT'S COUNCIL OF ADVISORS ON SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY Member List

The President's Council of Advisors on Science and Technology (PCAST) is an advisory group of the nation's leading scientists and engineers, appointed by the President to augment the science and technology advice available to him from inside the White House and from cabinet departments and other Federal agencies. PCAST is consulted about and provides analyses and recommendations concerning a wide range of issues where understandings from the domains of science, technology, and innovation may bear on the policy choices before the President. For more information about PCAST, see <a href="http://www.whitehouse.gov/ostp/pcast">http://www.whitehouse.gov/ostp/pcast</a>.

### John P. Holdren, Co-Chair

Assistant to the President for Science and Technology Director, Office of Science and Technology Policy

# Eric S. Lander, Co-Chair

President

Broad Institute of Harvard and MIT

# William Press, Vice-Chair

Raymer Professor in Computer Science and Integrative Biology University of Texas at Austin

# Maxine Savitz, Vice-Chair

Vice President

National Academy of Engineering

### Rosina Bierbaum

Dean, School of Natural Resources and Environment University of Michigan

#### **Christine Cassel**

President and CEO National Quality Forum

# **Christopher Chyba**

Professor of Astrophysical Sciences and International Affairs Director, Program on Science and Global Security Princeton University

# S. James Gates Jr.

John S. Toll Professor of Physics Director, Center for String and Particle Theory University of Maryland, College Park

# **Mark Gorenberg**

Managing Director Hummer Winblad Venture Partners

# **Shirley Ann Jackson**

President

Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

#### Richard C. Levin

President Emeritus Frederick William Beinecke Professor of Economics Yale University

# Chad Mirkin

George B. Rathmann Professor of Chemistry Director, International Institute for Nanotechnology Northwestern University

#### Mario J. Molina

Distinguished Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry University of California, San Diego Professor, Center for Atmospheric Sciences Scripps Institution of Oceanography

# **Craig Mundie**

Chief Research and Strategy Officer Microsoft Corporation

#### **Ed Penhoet**

Director, Alta Partners Professor Emeritus of Biochemistry and Public Health University of California, Berkeley

# **Barbara Schaal**

Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences Mary-Dell Chilton Distinguished Professor of Biology Washington University, St. Louis Vice President, National Academy of Sciences

#### **Eric Schmidt**

Executive Chairman Google, Inc.

# **Daniel Schrag**

Sturgis Hooper Professor of Geology Professor, Environmental Science and Engineering Director, Harvard University-wide Center for Environment Harvard University

#### Staff

Marjory Blumenthal, Executive Director, PCAST Danielle Carnival, Senior Policy Advisor Knatokie M. Ford, AAAS Science & Technology Policy Fellow